How I’m Going to Afford the Trip to North Carolina –

I honestly didn’t think I was going to win the national delegate spot. Of course I wanted to win more than anything, otherwise I wouldn’t have sought advice and put effort into my ‘campaign,’ but I didn’t think a youngin’ that nobody knows could win national delegate. So now I’m stuck with trying to figure out how to pay for the trip with my limited income – No, I’m not going to give any specifics on how much I make, because it really is that sad. Really.

My trip to the Democratic National Convention in September is going to cost around $2,000. I’m about to book my flight, which is going to cost me about $600 on U.S. Airways. The designated lodging for us delegates at the Embassy Suites will be around $200/night, so at a minimum, I’ll be paying $800 for my hotel. Luckily, transportation between the hotel and the convention activities will be provided, but if I want to explore the city, I’m going to have to pay for a light rail tickets or taxis. And if I wasn’t such a brat, I could probably live off Ramen the entire trip and spend less than $100 on both food and transportation, but let’s be real – When am I ever going to the DNC again? I may as well enjoy the opportunity at its fullest! So I’m going to aim for $600 in food/recreational/shopping/etc. AKA Diva Costs.

To prepare for this financially, I’ve come up with the following list of ways I can cut costs to afford this trip. It’s going to take a lot of sacrifice and self-discipline over the next four months, but it’ll definitely be worth it!

1. Instead of drinking Grey Goose at the end of my long work days, I’m going to start drinking Skyy and Absolut – downgrading to top shelf to middle shelf. In turn, I’m going to have to ask my boyfriend if it is okay for me to let boys buy me drinks at the bar so I won’t have to spend any money. Efficiency.

2. Although I’ve already been bringing a sack lunch from home to save money, there have been times when I’ll forget or I won’t have time, so I’ll end up buying a $1 side salad from McDonalds’ Dollar Menu. This is an UNNECESSARY EXPENSE. If I forget my lunch, I guess I’m not eating lunch – I want to lose weight anyways, right?

3. Rather than going out and spending money on the weekends, I’m going to stay in and take on the hobby of sweepstaking, and apply for as many as I can possibly find online – the ones where no purchase is necessary, of course. Who knows, I might win, and this trip will be paid for!

4. My birthday is in July. I’m going to hope my family doesn’t disappoint me, and gives me a big ‘ol stack of money – I’ll count on using this to go toward my trip, and any other gifts I receive will be regifted to my friends whose birthdays follow mine. It’s called, being practical.

5. When I’m invited to grab lunch or dinner with people, right after we’ve finished our meal, I’m going to say, “OH hell’s bells. I forgot my debit card – AGAIN! I’ll get you next time?” And by next time, I mean after the convention. That’s what friends are for!

6. Speaking of ways my friends can help me save money, I’m going to have to get around somehow, right? Being familiar with all their schedules, I’m going to bum rides off of my friends as much as possible and cross my fingers that they don’t ask for gas money.

7. If I absolutely need to buy new clothes, I’m going to make sure it’s on clearance. But really, the price won’t matter anyways, because I plan to return it promptly the day after I wear it.

8. I plan to replace my POS shattered-screened phone soon. It’s going to be tough, but it’s something I gotta do: I’m going to have to buy an older-generation phone that hasn’t come out in 2012. Woe is me!

9. Additionally, I’m not going to talk to anyone who doesn’t have T-Mobile until after 9pm or on weekends. If it’s important, you better text me!

10. I can’t afford to pay $13.99 a month for my membership to Lady Fitness anymore – I’m going to sign up for free week-long passes to various gyms every week until September.

I hope you know I’m kidding. I do plan to cut back on a lot of spending, but not to these extremes or on stupid things hahaha. I really should adopt a more frugal lifestyle anyways – it’s not cheap, it’s smart! But if I keep up the rate I’ve been saving, I should be able to afford the trip with no problems at all! Gosh, I can’t wait!

Also, I hope you’re as excited about the new layout of my blog as I am! AHH, I’m so glad I finally got to re-edit it.

Leave a Reply

