“My Space is Small. My Life is Big.”

Granted that I am probably seen as a materialistic, superficial girl due to my Instagram photos of all the brand-name, “high-end” things I waste my money on, it might be surprising that I really liked this New York Times article.  It resonated with me because in spite of all the things I try to get involved with, I think that I, like all people, strive for a simple, uncomplicated life.  I absolutely love how the author talks about how he started as a hoarder after he sold his company—bought a big ‘ol house, cars, gadgets, piles and piles of stuff, a personal shopper!?—and ended up finding true happiness once he simplified his life to an office out of his backpack and a 420-square foot apartment with a fold-up bed.

I am truly envious of this guy!  I would love to live a life where I could travel and BE the change I want to make in the world.  Working at Cicero is comfortable, and ultimately I guess I’m making a small difference in contributing to a healthy economy by helping businesses grow.  But I would actually trade my “comfortable” life, steady paycheck, and monotonous lifestyle for one that is completely unpredictable, but one where I know I’m making a direct impact on the world.  Sounds really cheesy, but I’m serious!

I feel that as I’ve gotten older, the satisfaction I’ve received from recognition and REAL accomplishments have made me happier than any vacation or any material things I’ve bought.  I’m addicted to shopping for pretty, high-quality things, but not as much as I am to succeeding and doing BIG things.  I get so excited when I’m able to add new things to my closet or when I’m able to eat out at nice places (yaaaaay), but I’m even happier when I receive praise at work or when I won my election for National Delegate (I AM A BAMF!).

This is why I considered joining the Peace Corps and giving up this comfortable but boring lifestyle.  I want to help people and experience what it’s like in less privileged countries.  I want to inspire people and I want to make a meaningful difference in their lives.  I still want to go to law school, take a bunch of electives in international law, and get involved in any type of humanitarian effort.  I don’t want to be a practicing attorney working in litigation (yawwwwn), but rather a public official working in an NGO overseas, a diplomat or an ambassador.  Gosh, that would be so cool.

This article made my day.  I really do see more value in experiences and achievements than in collecting and hoarding a bunch of “things.”  I’m still waiting for Branden to finish school, but hopefully I’ll be able to focus more on my bigger goals soon.

Leave a Reply

