Ragnar

14 pounds ago, I originally signed up for Ragnar as motivation to build a healthier lifestyle.  By the time it rolled around, I didn’t feel ready at all.  I was so nervous before my first leg, and my team could detect my worry in the way I was acting.  Once I started running, I could already tell I wasn’t going to finish the run at my optimal speed.  The heat made the hill feel steeper than it was, and I couldn’t breathe as I climbed the hill.  But once I reached the top, I looked out into Cache Valley, and admired God’s masterpiece.  Though I didn’t finish the run as fast as I wanted to, my team cheered for me along the entire way, motivating me to finish my first 7.7-mile leg.

Participating in Ragnar was one of the coolest experiences of my life.  It wasn’t easy at all–there were multiple instances where my mind was clouded with self-defeating thoughts and I just wanted to walk so badly.  But everytime I approached a hill, I would look up at the sky, whether it was the sunset as I started running down Snow Basin or the full moon and sea of stars when I finished, and keep telling myself that I could do it.  At the top of the hill I’d feel both a relief of tension in my legs along with a huge sense of accomplishment in knowing I had just pushed myself further than I ever thought I could.

image

I think Ragnar changed my life.  I’m definitely encountering a lot of “hills.”  I’m being pushed to the point where giving up sounds like such an attractive option, and life is just a silly race everyone else is running anyway.  Rather than letting this negativity control me and drag me down, I’m going to keep pushing.  I’m going to feed off of the support of the people who do care about me and support me.  I’m going to finish this race, and I’m going to end up exactly where I want to be by finding the extra strength to conquer all these hills.  I’m so blessed.  I really am.  I’m NOT petty.  And I can do anything I set my mind to.  I’m going to make it to the top someday look out into the world at all the hills I already overcame, with the same gratification I had this weekend.  I can’t wait to see what the future brings, and I’m so thankful for all the opportunities I’ve been given to create my own future. 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

