Sewol

My heart is broken upon reading about the capsized ferry boat in South Korea.  The chances of something of this nature happening are so small, but the fact that things like this happen at all should be reason enough for us to appreciate everything we have.

I feel that over the last year I’ve developed a greater appreciation for things I often didn’t attach as much value as I should.  Every morning I thank God that I have all five senses, that I woke up in a comfortable bed next to my fluffy little dog, that I have something to eat for breakfast, that my life is filled with so many people who care about me…  I realize how lucky I am to be alive, and how incredibly fortunate I am to have healthy relationships with my loved ones.  But it’s events like this that further remind me of how much I have to be thankful for.

This story got me thinking: if I were in a life-threatening situation, what are the things I would wish I had with me?  What would be the things I would be deeply saddened about never seeing again?  It wouldn’t be any type of material things… it wouldn’t even be the successes and accomplishments I’ve made academically or career-wise – it would be my family.

My thoughts and prayers go out to those affected in this tragedy.  I feel that the reason God lets things like this happen is so that we will take a step back to appreciate how much we have and how incredibly blessed we truly are.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

