Convention Weekend

Kathleen Villanueva - Utah Democratic Convention Credential

 

This weekend was a busy one for me.  Friday evening, I attended the Taylor & Mayne awards dinner to see Weston Clark deservedly receive the award, and I also went to the United Way Young Leaders annual party.  I was also invited to a SL Chamber event at the new aquarium and a friend’s launch party for his new product that I wasn’t able to make it to.  Yesterday, I attended my second convention ever as a delegate for House District 14.  Even though there aren’t as many big elections (no senate or presidential elections this year), it was still just as exciting as the last.

Two years ago, I went to my first convention ever – all alone.  While I had a lot of family and friends supporting my decision to run for delegate, I attended the convention alone, not knowing anyone really. But putting myself in the spotlight was one of the best decisions I ever made.  This year, I still arrived alone since I don’t really have any political frinds, but there were familiar faces everywhere.  It was so much easier to network and get introduced to such inspirational and well-meaning people.

Kathleen Villanueva Utah

Kathleen Villanueva and Luz Robles (UT-SD1 and Candidate for Utah House CD2)

I expressed my aspiration to work in politics someday, despite my wonderful situation at Cicero.  I am very grateful to have such an interesting and rewarding job, but ultimately I’d still like to pursue my dream of crafting policy that will better the lives of millions of people.  It’s incredible how I’ve always had a plan to work in politics, and after so many years, I’m still working so hard to execute it – while there are other people who never even gave two cents about politics, and ended up landing one of the neatest opportunities in it and falling completely in love with it.  I truly envy the people I just described, but either way, I’m moving forward, and I’ll get there someday. 🙂

I love meeting candidates and talking about the issues that are important to me.  I stressed issues including funding for education, long-term investments in infrastructure, technology and alternative energy, and an economic environment that both enables hard-working students out of undergrad to easily find jobs, as well as for business owners to innovate and grow.

In an effort to get more involved, I am now secretary of the Davis county chapter of the Utah Young Democratic Caucus.  I am looking forward to get more engaged and to make more of a difference in my community.  I really need to do more beyond my role in the Rules Committee.  I feel bad that I get jazzed up about politics during election years, but once the election is over, I kind of fall out of politics and just start concentrating solely in working and making money again.  I need to stay engaged throughout the whole year if I ever want to get there someday.

I don’t know if we’ll win any federal elections, or be able to replace all the retiring Democrats in our state legislature with more of our own… But I feel confident that we’re making progress.  Someday this state is going to turn purple. 🙂 I really want to help drive that change, and I can’t wait to experience what it will feel like to have helped contribute to such a huge victory.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

