Self Pep-Talk

In spite of people always telling me that I’ve already accomplished so much for my age, there are often times when I reflect on the last couple of years of my life and can’t help but feel like I could have worked harder, and I could have done more.  What if I went straight into graduate school instead of decided to work?  What if I took a step back into an administrative position in DC, but was able to take two steps forward into the job in politics I really wanted?

And then I snap myself out of it.  There’s no point in questioning the things I can no longer change – I need to dedicate my energy to the things that are under my control.  I worked pretty damn hard to get to where I am now.  Even though I’m not where I want to be, I’m thankful I’m no longer where I used to be… and I know I’ll ultimately succeed in attaining everything I want as long as I continue to work hard, learn and grow.  I know I have so much potential to become anyone I want to be, but I don’t just want it to be potential – I actually want to become that person who inspires others.

Did you know it takes an oyster 5 years just to create a medium-sized pearl?  Remember, the best things are worth the wait.  Don’t rush the process, practice patience, and do not take short cuts.  There is no end to this lifestyle.  Just enjoy it and keep going.  Leverage your strengths, learn from your failures, and never give up.  Continue to identify your weaknesses and set goals on how you’re going to overcome them.  Changes will take effect because you are creating your own perfect pearl.

You can live a challenging, purpose-filled life in pursuit of your dreams or you can relax, sit back and watch others pursue theirs.  Every decision we make brings us one step closer or further from our purpose – the choice is yours.  “The journey won’t be easy, but it will be worth it.”

#cantstopwontstop

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a comment